Dear friends,


This year, at the ‘Far East Street’ exhibition, Buryatia will present its ‘Baikal–Buryatia: Traditions with a Future’ stand. Participants and guests of the Eastern Economic Forum will be able to learn about the culture of Buryatia, as well as about the tourism and investment potential of our region. You will be able to experience the allure and fascination of our land.

Our exhibit halls will feature craftsmen presenting their ethnic-style works made from natural Baikal products. The Ulan-Ude Aviation Plant will present models of its helicopters that are popular all over the world.

Visitors to the exhibit hall will be able to participate in an interactive game and take a virtual walk around Lake Baikal. Different routes are waiting for you and you will travel through summer, winter, autumn, and spring Buryatia. We will tell you in depth about tours, places to visit, and popular hotels in the Republic.

Our ‘Far East Street’ exhibit will allow you to see the magical beauty of Buryatia, but it will not convey the full range of emotions you will feel when you meet the unique beauty and vibes of our region. I invite you to take a trip to our Republic, enjoy the fresh air of Baikal, the heights of the ridges, and boundless spaces, taste the unique dishes, and immerse yourself in the history and unique culture of the peoples of Buryatia!


General information

Flag

Emblem



Capital

Ulan-Ude


Largest cities

Severobaikalsk, Gusinoozersk, Kyakhta, Zakamensk, Babushkin


Rivers, lakes

Lake Baikal: the deepest freshwater lake in the world. The Selenga River is Baikal’s largest tributary. Other rivers: the Uda, Upper Angara, Barguzin, Dzhida, Vitim, and Irkut. Major lakes: Gusinoye, Kotokel, Bolshoye Yeravnoye, and Baunt.


Climate

Very continental, with cold winters and hot summers. Winter is cold, with dry frosts and little snow. Spring is windy, with frosts and almost no precipitation. Summers are short, with hot days and cool nights, and heavy rainfall in July and August. Autumn comes unobtrusively, with no abrupt changes in weather; in some years, it is long and warm. The average summer temperature is +18.5 oC, the average winter temperature is −22 oC, and the average annual temperature is −1.6 oC. The average annual precipitation is 244 mm.


Area

351.3 thousand sq. km


Population

986.1 thousand


Transport communication

Air, railroad, car


Time zone

MSK+5


Industry

Machine building, mining (gold, coal, tungsten, uranium), wood processing industry, agriculture, and tourism


About the pavilion

The Republic of Buryatia is one of the most promising regions of the Far Eastern Federal District of Russia thanks to its convenient geographic location, historical, cultural, and natural resources, and transportation to other Russian regions and foreign countries. About 60% of the Lake Baikal shoreline, the world’s deepest freshwater lake, is in Buryatia. This is a unique feature that gives the region distinction.

The exhibit of the Republic of Buryatia is presented as a stylized pavilion, using elements of ethnic architecture of Buddhist temples and images of Baikal, its crystal-clear blue ice. Buryatia will showcase its multifaceted culture, tourist and investment potential, jade products, ethnic souvenirs, and unique traditions of Tibetan medicine and healing practices.

In the cultural zone, Buryatia will present a multimedia project ‘The Living Paintings of Buryat Artists’ from the National Museum of Buryatia and works of modern Buryat sculptors reflecting mythology, history, and ethnic and cultural traditions of different ethnic groups living in the Republic of Buryatia.

In the demonstration area in front of the pavilion, the Ulan-Ude Aviation Plant will display its modern and advanced aviation systems and equipment.

Popular groups and performers from Buryatia, including the Baikal Buryat National Song and Dance Theater, Razdolye Folk Song and Dance Ensemble, Sezon Dozhdey group, and the Circus School of the Republic of Buryatia, will perform their best music, songs, and dances.

Forum guests can learn the traditional Buryat dance yokhor, as well as customs and traditional games of Russians, Semeyskys, and Cossacks living in Buryatia. They can watch Buryat ethnic sports, such as khaer shaalganthe breaking of the spine bone, shagai naadan dice game, and zoskathe kicking of a horsehair-stuffed ball.


10 facts about The Republic of Buryatia

The world’s only complete copy of the rarest manuscript

The Atlas of Tibetan Medicine is kept in Buryatia.

The Vladimir Lenin monument in Soviet Square in Ulan-Ude is

the largest monumental head of Lenin in the world.

Buuzy is a traditional Buryat dish,

a standard serving of which supplies half of the daily calories.

Ivolginsky datsan

is the centre of Russian Buddhism.

Severomuysky Tunnel is the longest in Russia at

15,343 metres.

The Barguzinsky Nature Reserve is

the first ever nature conservation area in Russia.

Ten percent of the total area of Buryatia

consists of specially protected nature areas.

Three-quarters of Baikal’s inhabitants

are endemic species.

Baikal is home to one of only three

freshwater seal species in the world: the Baikal Seal or Nerpa.

Kyakhta is the former capital of the Russian Tea Road, which used to supply

the entire country and Western Europe with tea.

Дорогие друзья!

На «Улице Дальнего Востока» в этом году Бурятия представит экспозицию «Байкал – Бурятия. Традиции с будущим». Участники и гости Восточного экономического форума могут здесь познакомиться с культурой Бурятии, узнать о туристическом и инвестиционном потенциале нашего региона. Вы сможете окунуться в атмосферу нашей земли.

В наших павильонах народные мастера представят свои работы в этническом стиле, изготовленные из природных байкальских продуктов. Улан-Удэнский авиационный завод представит модели своих вертолетов, которые востребованы во всем мире.

Гости павильона смогут принять участие в интерактивной игре и провести виртуальную прогулку по Байкалу. Вас ждут разнообразные маршруты, вы совершите путешествие по летней, зимней, осенней и весенней Бурятии. Мы подробно расскажем об экскурсиях, местах посещения и популярных гостиницах республики.

Экспозиция на «Улице Дальнего Востока» позволит вам прикоснуться к волшебной красоте Бурятии, но не передаст всего спектра эмоций, которые вы испытаете при встрече с уникальной красотой и энергетикой нашего региона. Приглашаю вас совершить путешествие в нашу республику, насладиться свежим воздухом Байкала, высотами хребтов и бескрайними просторами, отведать уникальные блюда, погрузиться в историю и особую культуру народов Бурятии!



Паспорт региона

Флаг

Герб



Административный центр

Улан-Удэ


Крупные города

Северобайкальск, Гусиноозёрск, Кяхта, Закаменск, Бабушкин


Реки, озера

Самое глубокое пресноводное озеро в мире – Байкал, его самый крупный приток Селенга, а также Уда, Верхняя Ангара, Баргузин, Джида, Витим, Иркут; озера Гусиное, Котокель, Большое Еравное, Баунт


Климат

Резко континентальный, с холодной зимой и жарким летом. Зима холодная, с сухим морозом и малым количеством снега. Весна ветреная, с заморозками и почти без осадков. Лето короткое, с жаркими днями и прохладными ночами, с обильными осадками в июле и августе. Осень наступает незаметно, без резкой смены погоды, в отдельные годы она бывает долгой и теплой. Средняя температура летом +18,5 °С, зимой −22 °С, а среднегодовая температура −1,6 °С. За год в среднем выпадает 244 мм осадков


Площадь

351,3 тыс. кв. км


Население

986,1 тыс. человек


Транспортное сообщение

Воздушное, железнодорожное, автомобильное


Часовой пояс

МСК+5


Экономика

Машиностроение, добыча полезных ископаемых (золото, уголь, вольфрам, уран), лесоперерабатывающая промышленность, сельское хозяйство, туризм


О стенде

Республика Бурятия является одним из перспективных регионов ДФО, чему способствуют удобное географическое положение, историко-культурные и природные ресурсы, транспортное сообщение с другими регионами и зарубежными странами. На территории находится около 60% береговой линии Байкала – самого глубокого в мире пресноводного озера. Это уникальная природная особенность, которая дарит узнаваемость региону.

Выставочная экспозиция Республики Бурятия представлена в виде стилизованного павильона с использованием элементов национальной архитектуры дацанов и образов озера Байкал (голубые льды Байкала). Бурятия презентует многогранную культуру, туристический и инвестиционный потенциал, изделия из нефрита, сувенирную продукцию в этническом стиле, уникальные традиции тибетской медицины и практики врачевания.

В зоне культуры республики представлен мультимедиапроект «Ожившие полотна бурятских художников» Национального музея Республики Бурятия и работы современных скульпторов, которые отражают мифологию, историю и этнокультурную традицию народов, населяющих республику.

На демонстрационной площадке перед павильоном представлены современные и перспективные модели авиационной техники производства АО «Улан-Удэнский авиационный завод».

 Самые яркие национальные музыкальные, вокальные и танцевальные номера покажут известные коллективы и солисты Республики Бурятия, среди которых Бурятский национальный театр песни и танца «Байкал», Народный ансамбль песни и танца «Раздолье», музыкальная группа «Сезон Dождей», Бурятская республиканская цирковая школа.

Гостей Форума научат традиционному бурятскому танцу – ёхор, обычаям и забавам русских, семейских и казаков и покажут национальные виды спорта Бурятии: разбивание хребтовой кости «Хээр шаалган», игру в кости «Шагай наадан» и «Зоска» («набивание» ногой мячика из конского волоса).


10 фактов о Республике Бурятия

В Бурятии хранится единственная в мире полная копия тибетского подлинника

Атласа тибетской медицины – редчайшего памятника.

Памятник Владимиру Ленину на Площади Советов в г. Улан-Удэ –

самая большая монументальная голова Ленина в мире, ее вес превышает 42 тонны.

Буузы – национальное бурятское блюдо,

стандартная порция которого покрывает половину суточной дозы калорий.

Иволгинский дацан –

центр российского буддизма.

Северомуйский тоннель – самый длинный в России –

15 343 метра.

Баргузинский заповедник – самый первый заповедник в России.

Он был учрежден еще до революции 1917 года.

10% всей площади Бурятии –

особо охраняемые природные территории.

Три четверти обитателей Байкала –

эндемики.

Только в Байкале обитает один из трех пресноводных видов тюленя в мире –

байкальская нерпа.

Кяхта – в прошлом столица «Чайного пути» России,

снабжавшая всю страну и Западную Европу чаем.