“Representatives of around 200 nationalities have lived in peace and harmony in Russia since ancient times. Roughly 50 of them are small-numbered peoples. The unique diversity of their customs, languages, and traditions is an invaluable shared asset that we are sincerely proud of and cherish. Of course, the peoples of the North, Siberia, and the Far East occupy a special place in this incredible palette.

“These are some of the most beautiful and truly unique territories, where Indigenous People have lived as one with nature, their unique culture, and ancient customs for centuries.

“These territories, without exaggeration, are of strategic importance for our country, and their development is directly related to solving the long-term tasks of developing the country and its competitiveness on global markets. Our goal is to ensure sustainable development, which involves the creation of modern infrastructure, the development of resources and an industrial base, improving the quality of life of Indigenous Peoples, and preserving their original culture and traditions.

“The government’s caring attitude towards the guardians of the northern land and its bedrocks is one of the main conditions for the harmonious development of our country and the further development of its vast expanses and natural resources.

“The well-being of Indigenous Peoples and improvements to their living standards largely depend on us taking care of the ecological system, the extremely rich natural resources of the northern regions, and being respectful of the traditions of the Indigenous Population. For this reason, issues concerning the protection of the rights and interests of small-numbered peoples living on the territory of our country are among the priorities of the state’s policy.”

Soslan Abisalov

Director of the Department for the Development of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation and the Implementation of Infrastructure Projects of the Ministry for the Development of the Russian Far East and the Arctic

About pavilion

The House of Indigenous Peoples Pavilion will be presented at the Far East Street Exhibition for the first time. It is dedicated to the culture of the Indigenous peoples of Russia. Numerous events will take place at the House, including the ‘Creative Industries Forum. Sociocultural Development of the Northern Regions’. The forum events include: ‘Taming the Cold: Technologies for Life in the North’, ‘Snow House: Special Features of the Environment of Northern Cities’, ‘Russian Arctic Style’, ‘People: The Creative Potential of the North’, ‘Gastronomy of the Arctic, Siberia, and the Far East’ and numerous others. Leaders of the Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North will take part in the events at the House of Indigenous Peoples, and roundtables are planned on the traditional economy of Indigenous peoples. The cultural programme will feature a photo exhibition by the winners of the Northern Eye contest as well as the Children of the Arctic photo exhibition. Guests will have an opportunity to take part in master classes on the artistic processing of bones, horns, and walrus tusks, and the manufacturing of national toys. They will also be able to make products from fish skin and deer fur or learn the national dances of the northern peoples. In addition, visitors to the pavilion will have a chance to taste the unique gastronomy of the north in the lounge of the ICE BAR pavilion.

«В России издревле в мире и согласии проживают представители около двухсот национальностей. Около 50 из них — это малые народы. Уникальное многообразие обычаев, языков и традиций – это общее бесценное достояние, которым мы искренне гордимся и которым дорожим. Конечно, особое место в этой невероятной палитре занимают народы Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока.

Это красивейшие и поистине уникальные территории, где на протяжении столетий коренные жители сохраняют единство с природой, самобытную культуру и древние обычаи.

Эти территории без преувеличения имеют стратегическое значение для нашей страны, и с их развитием прямо связано решение долгосрочных задач развития государства, его конкурентоспособности на глобальных рынках. Наша цель – обеспечить устойчивое развитие, а это создание современной инфраструктуры, освоение ресурсов, развитие промышленной базы, повышение качества жизни коренных народов, сохранение их самобытной культуры, традиций. 

Бережное отношение со стороны государства к хранителям северной земли и ее устоев является одним из условий гармоничного развития нашей страны, дальнейшего освоения её обширных пространств и природных богатств.

Благополучие и повышение уровня жизни коренных малочисленных народов во многом зависит от нашего бережного отношения к экологической системе, богатейшим природным ресурсам северных регионов, уважения к традициям коренного населения. Поэтому вопросы защиты прав и интересов малочисленных народов, проживающих на территории нашей страны, – в числе приоритетов государственной политики».

Абисалов Сослан Русланович

Директор Департамента развития Арктической зоны Российской Федерации и реализации инфраструктурных проектов Министерства Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики

О павильоне

Впервые на Улице Дальнего Востока будет представлен Дом Коренных народов. Он посвящен культуре коренных малочисленных народов России. На его площадке пройдут многочисленные мероприятия, в том числе «Форум креативных индустрий. Социокультурное развитие северных регионов». Среди мероприятий форума сессии: «Приручить Холод: Технологии Жизни на Севере», «Снежный Дом: Особенности Развития Среды Северных Городов», «Русский Арктический Стиль», «Люди - Креативный Потенциал Севера», «Гастрономия Арктики, Сибири и Дальнего Востока» и многие другие. В мероприятиях на площадке «Дом Коренных народов» примут участие лидеры Ассоциации коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока Российской Федерации, запланированы круглые столы по вопросам развития традиционной экономики коренных народов. В рамках культурной программы будут организованы фотовыставка победителей конкурса «Северный взор» и фотовыставка «Дети Арктики». Гости форума смогут принять участие в мастер-классах по художественной обработке кости, рога, клыка моржа, изготовлению национальной игрушки. Попробовать произвести изделия из рыбьей кожи, меха оленя или освоить национальные танцы северных народов. Кроме того, посетители павильона смогут попробовать уникальную гастрономию севера в лаунже павильона ICE BAR.